Capture4

While some of my other blogging friends are making great progress in their writing goals, I am somehow back down on the bottom rung of a very tired ladder.  That’s just my fancy way of saying that my senior year is terribly busy, and I am totally drained by the time I have the time to look at my manuscripts.

Busy doesn’t necessarily mean awful, though.  I’m getting involved in some crazy, amazing opportunities.  For one — my university is launching a rocket to the moon!  I’m not kidding or exaggerating at all.  We are launching a rocket to the moon.  Now, I’m no engineer or astronomer, but I was able to worm my way into a spot on the team doing it.

So now I write for the Lunar Lions.  Here’s an article I did the other week.  The link for it is here, but I’m also pasting it below:

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa – October 1, 2014 – Sophomore Scott Gauer and a team of three other students took a break from their studies and got to give a test of their own.  It wasn’t just any standard college test; they performed a crucial structural test on the Puma, Lunar Lion’s first technology milestone.

Before the Puma was built, tests were being performed on it through computer models – specifically finite element analysis tests.  This test that Scott and his teammates ran would confirm the results of those simulations.

Going from computer models to the real deal takes a bit of coordination and problem solving.  For one, the team had to figure out how to attach the 100 pound weights to the Puma.  These weights stood in for the force of thrust that each of the four rockets on the Puma would exert during flight.  Once the weights were attached, the Puma was tested.  First, the team applied the weights while supporting the metal arms.  Once the Puma passed this test, they took away the support by hanging the Puma from a beam.

In the above picture, Scott is preparing the Puma for the test by torqueing a bolt – this bolt needs to be tightened to a specific amount, or else the joint will not perform to its maximum potential!  The whole team had to make sure to coordinate the release of the weights for the test.  It had to be timed accurately, or they risked damaging the Puma!

The team did a great job, and the Puma passed with flying colors.

I actually just wrote another one tonight, much longer and with more personality.  But I’m going to wait to share that until I get it approved.

So, there you have it!  I wrote my way onto a spot for a team that is pretty much the coolest college team ever.  In my opinion, at least.

