93892c40e46d6301f91973d1fd1371ab
To make up for my horrendous lack of poetry writing skills, I like to find other poems and pretend that I’m sophisticated enough to understand and write poems similar.  So, here is one of my more favorite finds by Sir Thomas Wyatt.  If you’re a fan of the Tudors, it’s rumored that he wrote this for Anne Boleyn before she went off to the court to be a lady in waiting (and we all know what happened next).  But I mean, really, who wouldn’t plead for Anne Boleyn to stay?  Just look at that face.
t3
Oh wait, that’s just Natalie Dormer portraying Anne Boleyn.  But I like to think that Anne Boleyn looked like this in reality.  History would make a lot more sense that way.
So, without further ado, wilt thou leave me thus?
And wilt thou leave me thus?
Say nay, say nay, for shame,
To save thee from the blame
Of all my grief and grame;
And wilt thou leave me thus?
Say nay, say nay!
And wilt thou leave me thus,
That hath loved thee so long
In wealth and woe among?
And is thy heart so strong
As for to leave me thus?
Say nay, say nay!
And wilt thou leave me thus,
That hath given thee my heart
Never for to depart,
Nother for pain nor smart;
And wilt thou leave me thus?
Say nay, say nay!
And wilt thou leave me thus
And have no more pity
Of him that loveth thee?
Hélas, thy cruelty!
And wilt thou leave me thus?
Say nay, say nay!
**It’s a lot more romantic if you read it in a low British accent while laying in a summer bed of grass
tumblr_nboga44oHz1qhgd3zo1_1280
