sagittarius

This is a little snippet of information that is universally interesting (pun intended) to people of all educational background.  I had absolutely no idea this was true — so thank you Astronomy class for making me learn this for my exam tomorrow.

So we live in the Milky Way galaxy, right?  Not anywhere close to the center, though, where a supermassive black hole resides.  But did you know that we can actually “see” the center of the galaxy from earth?

Albeit not a good glimpse, especially since black holes are observed from the absence of light, so unless we decide to jump inside one, we will never see what one looks like.  But still, if we look in the direction of Sagittarius A (shown below), we are staring into the abyss that’s in the center of our galaxy.

The central region of the Milky Way Galaxy, including the supermassive black hole, Sagittarius A*.

This image is from NASA.

Actually, there’s so many insane, mind-bending concepts about the universe and space that are relatively, generally relatively easy (anyone catch the joke?) to understand.  So with every Astronomy test I procrastinate cramming for, look out for these fun facts.

**Thanks A.D. Martin for reminding me to blog.  Also, to those who I have promised to beta read, I am getting through the manuscripts, slowly but surely.

