My goal:  to have a published book before the start of my senior year of college.

I’m happy to say that I have accomplished this goal.  I’ve wasted so many other summers on television and idle laziness, so I’m very pleased that I was able to do something worthwhile with my time this year.

That being said…

There are so many things that I could have done differently.  My biggest problem is my impatience.  I wanted to accomplish this goal, and I was completely unwilling to budge on the timeline.  This meant sacrificing time editing, revising, planning, and marketing.  By the time I made the decision to self-publish, I didn’t leave myself much time to research the actual process.  So for 3/4’s of the self-publishing process, I had no idea what I was doing.  I knew I needed to have someone edit the manuscript, so I found an editor.  I knew I needed a pretty cover, so I got a person to design the cover.  I was very lucky to have found such talented people.

If I were to do this over again, I would have looked more into the process of self publishing.  I read about people actually developing a business plan and marketing strategy.  Now I understand why that would be beneficial.  I just would have been more organized in what content I blogged about, having a timeline for contests, having beta readers, getting reviews, and having press releases.  I would have planned out what to say, and what one-liners I could spit out about the story.  Also, I would have had my photographer take promo photos for me to use.  This would have helped me create promotional materials to post online and print.

Do I regret the way I chose to do it?

While I would have benefitted from some extra planning, I can confidently say that I do not regret anything that I have done.  If anything, I learned what could improve with my writing, and how to go about planning the release of a book.  I wasn’t planning on, or really expecting a large success with this project (although I’m very pleased about the amount of feedback I’ve been getting).  I know exactly how I want to go about completing my next project.

Thank you all so much for following my publishing story.  I’ve really enjoyed interacting with you and stumbling across some great internet-friends.  Thank you for your support.

