Yes, that is me in the glider plane in the picture above.  I have the good fortune of being related to very enthusiastic aeronautical engineers, that take their interests to away with them after work.  While I missed out on the gene that gave them math-oriented brains, I still do benefit from their passions.  Usually, I get a little weirded out by planes.  Flying on big, normal planes make me nervous.  It’s not that I’m afraid of heights; there’s just so much that could go wrong.

But while visiting my brother he suggested that I go up to the air field to maybe catch a flight.  I wanted to say no.  I was tired and I really didn’t feel like having the mechanics of the gliders explained to me in brain-numbing detail.  However, this summer I’m trying to make the most of what I have.  I took the Fiji trip, I’m publishing a book, I’m fishing A LOT, and pretty much any other non-television-watching activity I can get my hands on.  And flying in a glider?  Yeah, that doesn’t happen all of the time.  So I went to the air field.

It ended up being a really awesome experience!  I actually got to steer the glider around, and I was really bad at it.  As it turns out, I lack the delicate touch needed for handling a glider.  That didn’t stop it from being fun, though.

I’m afraid that there have been a lot of times that I’ve turned down experiences that could have been really rewarding.  At college, I turn down my friends’ offers to go out because I’d rather watch Netflix.  There are other, more exciting opportunities that I’ve rejected.  I’ve rejected research opportunities, offers to be an extra in movies, road trips, leadership opportunities, and a lot more.  I’m too “busy”, nervous, tired, or out of the zone to say yes.  I get stuck in a rut and I like to stay there.

I feel like we all do this, sometimes.  I feel like everybody has a comfort zone, and when things come along outside of it, it’s easier to just say no.

For me personally, I know that I’ll be mad at myself a few years from now for rejecting opportunities.  That’s probably my biggest driving factor this summer.  Besides, as someone that likes to write, I need experiences to base my writing off of.

I’ve learned that you don’t really need money in order to have new opportunities to experience.  You just need a sense of adventure, an overactive imagination, and a few friends to go crazy with.

glider1

