Image

There are times, especially when it comes to publishing, that I feel myself getting frustrated at my current rate of progress.  And then there are my college classes, which also take their toll.  I’m pretty big on listening to music — I cannot walk to class in silence.  I love how music can resonate with, or even change my mood.

When I feel myself getting this frustration, there’s always one song I go to.  It’s called “Last Hope” by Paramore.  I think the melody and the lyrics can be applied to many different situations.

For instance:

“I don’t even know myself at all
I thought I would be happy by now
The more I try to push it
I realise – gotta let go of control”

I think this is easy to relate to.  We make goals, and visualize where we will be in the future comes.  Personally, I thought I’d be on full academic scholarship at college and writing screenplays for movies.  Yeah…. Life doesn’t work out that simply.  A lot more goes into achieving our goals than we realize.  Then it sets us up for disappointment when we reach that “future” age, and we aren’t anywhere near finishing our goal.

“It’s just a spark
But it’s enough to keep me going
And when it’s dark out, no one’s around
It keeps glowing”

I really like these lyrics, because this is like that tiny little positive sign against a sea of negatives.  Especially in the publishing world, there is a lot of rejection.  But every so often, there is that one person that shows a sign of interest in what you have to say, and that’s enough to keep going.

“Every night I try my best to dream
Tomorrow makes it better
Then I wake up to the cold reality
And not a thing has changed

But it will happen
Gotta let it happen”

I know I definitely do this.  I go through what I can do the next day, and how everything will improve.  The positive visualization doesn’t usually help, but I think this segment is more about holding onto your confidence even when the prospect turns bleak.

“And the salt in my wounds isn’t burning anymore than it used to
It’s not that I don’t feel the pain, it’s just I’m not afraid of hurting anymore
And the blood in these veins isn’t pumping any less than it ever has
And that’s the hope I have, the only thing I know that’s keeping me alive”

This is probably the most powerful part of the song — for me at least.  This section can apply to any of our goals, whether they be publishing, starting a company, or any other goal that involves rejection.  At the end of the day, we have ourselves to rely on, and we have to be the ones to move forward.

So even though not everybody may not like Paramore, I do think that some of their songs have fantastic messages.  It’s just really nice to have a break from love songs / break up songs, and have a song that’s about keeping strong.

