Hammering Out...Divergent

I think it’s safe to say that as a book lover, I love it when I hear my favorite story is being made into a movie.  The book becomes more than just a cover and pages — it becomes an event.  My friends and I gather around the laptop, nitpicking about potential casting choices.

Which scenes will they cut?

They had better not change this character at all!

We should dress up like (insert character’s name) when we go see it!

And thus, crazed bookworms become crazed film fanatics.  While some of the movies and shows don’t live up to their respective books, there is one thing that I really love about this book-to-blockbuster craze.

It gets people to pick up a book and read it.  People that may not normally read for fun will borrow a copy from their friends, or even buy their own copy.  When “The Great Gatsby” was remade starring Leo, a close friend of mine that has not picked up a book in years actually read an F Scott Fitzgerald novel.

That’s a pretty big deal.  F Scott Fitzgerald isn’t a breezy read for someone that hasn’t read since high school.

Granted, not everyone that sees the movie will read the book, but the fact that at least a handful of people were inspired to take the initiative to read is a huge accomplishment.

Using books as the basis for film also can raise the quality of what we watch.  I’m not saying that “Twilight” was a more quality film than the Batman trilogy, or Star Wars, or anything.  I’m talking about movies such as “The Fault in Our Stars”, “Perks of Being a Wallflower”, and many others.  Lately, I’ve been marathoning “Game of Thrones.”  As an avid reader of the series, I refused to watch the show until the whole series was finished and I read every page.  Then boredom happened and I had internet access, and was sick of watching shows like “Vampire Diaries” and “Arrested Development”.  So, if you read my blog regularly and are wondering why I haven’t posted in a while — it’s because “Game of Thrones” took over my life.  While it’s graphic and definitely inappropriate for children, I think that the content and plot is engaging and much more thought provoking than other shows.  This is partly because the series is written so well, but I think HBO and a large percentage of the American population can thank George R. R. Martin for allowing his work to be made into a show.

I have yet to see “Divergent”, but I am very excited to.  Since it is more of a commercial book, I am afraid that some of the underlying messages of the story will be lost for the sake of attracting a large audience.  However, I can walk around my college campus and see at least one person who has that book with them and I am glad that “Divergent” is a movie, regardless of the end results

I know that not everyone feels the same way about book-to-blockbuster deals, but I think that we can all agree that the hype encourages the general population to read.  And I think that is a beautiful thing.

