nervous-businesswoman-looking-computer-close-up-young-colleague-background-32278583

I’m a very, very late comer to the world of blogging. Believe it or not, I’ve actually started a number of different blogs on different sites with different names each time. But then I would second guess myself and just delete the whole thing by the time the week was up.

This is the best I’ve ever done with a blog. You’d think it’d be the easiest thing to write words for people you’ll never see to read, right? Other people do it all of the time with no problem.

My problem: I was terrified that no one would even bother to look at what I posted.

It’s one thing to have people hate or disagree with your work — at least they took a look at it and had an emotional response.  But not even being worth anyone’s time on the whole entire internet?  That’s just depressing.  So rather than live with the knowledge of going unnoticed, I just deleted the blog altogether.

Starting the querying process was probably the best action I’ve ever taken.  Nothing like lack of response, or politely worded negative response to get me past my blogging fears.  Once I started getting responses from agents, I looked to the internet for advice.  I found a multitude of advice for first time publishers.  One common theme?

Have a blog.

Write a blog.

Blog, blog, blog.

Yeah, I think I got it.  So, I finally decided to ditch the fake names, and lazy attempts.  Even if absolutely no one had ever taken a look at any of my blogs, I was going to stick with it.  At worst, I had an online journal.  At best, I got to reach out to you, and hopefully connect with you.

And to my great surprise (and happiness) I was able actually have a connection with people, like yourself.  That’s what I love so much about the internet, and sites like this one.  It brings people together that have the same fundamental goals.

So thank you, for helping me overcome my fear of blogging.

Next major fear to overcome?  Swimming in the ocean.

