So I tried again today with more query letters. For those of you who may not be familiar with the traditional publication, when an author is finished writing their novel (fictional) they draft a query letter. Next they send this query letter to potential agents to represent their work. This is similar to how an actor has an agent representing them. The agent then helps the author book a deal with a publisher.

This is what I’m trying to do. I want to give this a shot just to see what it would be like. And like I’ve read in many articles, it is very hard and can be very disheartening. Today I found myself thinking “Why even bother?” when looking up another agent. But it doesn’t hurt me to try. So I’ve sent out another few letters.

I’ve also looked into private publishing, which looks just as good as the traditional route. Who knows? I’m just excited to be trying. Maybe in a few months I’ll change up my tactics.

To any other potential authors out there — I recommend looking up articles and interviews about what agents look for. It’s really helpful when designing your query. Later I’ll share some of my research and tips that I’ve found.

