When I work really hard on something, and pour all of my time and emotion in it, I just assume that everybody will love it as much as I do.

And that’s rarely the case.

At least it’s rare when I am seeking different routes to publication on my latest project.

I don’t know how many of you out there have also sought the traditional routes of publication, but I’m assuming that’s a rather large number. Let’s commiserate together.

It can really really suck to hear that someone doesn’t think your work is worth their time.

Even if you don’t write, maybe you sing, or act, or draw, or dance, or maybe pioneer something scientific, but we all face constant rejection when we finally decide to chase what we want. As if facing the possibility of failure wasn’t enough, once you build the courage you also get to face rejection.

And sometimes I hate it. Not enough to stop, though. I have many motivators to keep me going, and I honestly think that the criticism and rejection will help in the long run. But for the time being, it’s almost painful to read some of the feedback I get.

I suppose it’s all a test to see if we have the determination to pursue our dreams. Or maybe it isn’t, and we all keep trying to climb a wall that is constantly crumbling down.

I’d really like to hear about other people going through a similar experience — even if it’s not about writing. I think we all could use that awesome inspirational story at times.

I’ll probably document more of my experience in the publishing world! It’s much more different and difficult than anything I’ve ever experienced. I think being a junior in college adds another element to it as well. It’s very difficult to focus on school, because I’m only thinking about who to query next, and how I can improve.

I guess at the end of the day all that really matters is that I like my work. And I truly love the story I wrote, even if others don’t see what I see in it. I wrote it for me and I wrote it to share with others. If the only other people that read it are my friends, then that will be good enough for me. With this constant feedback and rejection I am learning so much about critiquing my own work and figuring out what I love about my stories.

It reminds me of a certain game I played a lot as a kid on Nintendo 64. In Super Mario 64 there was a staircase that you could go into early in the game to fight Bowser. But if you didn’t have enough stars, it became a never ending staircase. As a kid, I always liked to try running up the stairs early, just thinking that if I went up a few more steps I could cheat the system and beat the game.

I feel like chasing a goal is kind of the same feeling. If I go a few more feet, a few more steps, I’ll make it. Even when it turns out I didn’t, I keep on holding to that hope, just like I did in the never ending staircase.

I feel like it’s such a silly thing, but without that hope this would be an extremely depressing experience. I guess it’s all about staying positive. After all, after a few more stars I did eventually get Mario through to defeat Bowser.

